Purging Units

Purging units removes all information from the database for each unit selected by the selection criteria. Purging cannot be reversed. Please ensure the appropriate backups are taken before running a purge routine. The following tables outline what happens when an unit is purged, the possible actions, and how to run the purge process.

Data Updated or Deleted

The following table outlines the data that is updated or deleted during the purge process.  When the analyze process is executed, it will return a count of the number of records updated or deleted.



Abbreviation Description Data Manipulation Actions Table
Unit ID Unit Data Deleted This is the Unit ID being deleted
Unit Name Unit Data Deleted This is the name of the unit being deleted.
CC Dtl Course Completion Detail Data Checked The unit can only be deleted when no course completion detail data exists. The people purge should be executed before deleting units.
CC Sum Course Completion Summary Data Checked The unit can only be deleted when no course completion summary data exists. The people purge should be executed before deleting units.
Charges Event Charges Data Deleted Event Charges data for the unit will be deleted.
Pricing Event Pricing Data Deleted Event pricing data for the unit will be deleted.
Item Item Data Deleted All item data for the unit will be deleted.
Person Unit Person Unit Assignment Data Checked The unit can only be deleted when no people are assigned to it. The people purge should be executed before deleting units.
Reg Registration Data Checked The unit can only be deleted when no registration data exists. The people purge should be executed before deleting units.
Unit Unit Data Deleted Displays a count of the units being displayed. Should always be 1.
Unit Event Rel Unit Event Assignment Data Deleted Deletes all unit event assignments for the unit.
User Pref User Preferences Data Updated Removes unit and region from user preference record.
Understanding Actions

The following table outlines the current actions for purging units. An action is the criteria used to select units for removal.

Action Notes
Purge Unit By Unit ID Deletes only the unit only associated with that unit ID.
Purge Units in a Region Deletes all units in a selected region that also meet the checked deletion criteria.
Purge Selected Unit Deletes only the unit selected in the drop down criteria.
Analyze The Purge

When preparing to purge units, it is advised to analyze the purge first. In this example, we are analyzing unit 780.

  • The notes section only shows Successfully Analyzed, which means all checks passed and this unit can be deleted. If the checks had failed, there would be additional notes to correct.
Completing The Purge

Once you have completed the analyze and are satisfied that you have the correct records to purge, check the confirmation checkbox and then click the purge button.

  • Warning! This action cannot be reversed. Once the purge has started, it will delete data from the database.
  • It is highly recommended that you take a database backup before completing the purge process.
  • Once the purge has completed, a table will be displayed with all records that were purged.